- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
HomeWorldThe Quad countries signed the Guidelines on Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Relief...

The Quad countries signed the Guidelines on Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Relief on the sidelines of the UNGAAchi News

- Advertisment -

Achi News Updates,

The Quad nations signed the Humanitarian Assistance Disaster Relief (HADR) guidelines in New York at the 77th session of the UN General Assembly, a move India called a “perfect meeting” amid turbulent times. Leaders of the Quad, which includes Japan, India, Australia and the United States, signed the framework during a foreign minister-level meeting.

Foreign Minister S Jaishankar, US Secretary of State Anthony Blinken, Japanese Foreign Minister Yoshimasa Hayashi and Australia’s Penny Wong signed the Guidelines for the Implementation of the QUAD Humanitarian Assistance and Disaster Relief Partnership for the Indo-Pacific Region announced by the QUAD Leaders in May 2022. It will allow the four countries to cooperate and further coordinate, for example, climate disaster responses.

In his opening speech, Jaishankar said the meeting was important as the world was going through a very difficult period due to the fallout from the Ukraine conflict and the rise of climate emergencies.

“We’re a few years into the Quad. We’re now seeing the global consequences of the Ukraine conflict. We’re seeing climate events and emergencies on an unprecedented scale,” he said.

“It’s really important that the Quad moves forward with the creative agenda we’ve set for ourselves, that we really work together to deliver public goods,” he said.

Jaishankar said other initiatives such as STEM fellowships are in the pipeline and are working on economic infrastructure and maritime field awareness.

UN He welcomed the meeting held on the sidelines of the General Assembly and said such regular meetings were a “good idea” among Quad members and “in our countries as well”.

He said the signing of the HADR framework today is very timely. “I think this is an opportunity for us to discuss how to strengthen the UN-led multilateral system,” he said.

In his remarks, Blinken said the meeting on the sidelines of the UNGA was proof that “the Quad is stronger and stronger, strengthening our multilateral cooperation.”

“The significant challenges we face and the opportunities before us demand more than ever that we work together,” he said. “None of us can do what it takes to meet these challenges and seize these opportunities alone. That was the inspiration behind the quad,” Blinken said.

He said the humanitarian assistance and disaster relief guidelines are the foundation for “greater cooperation and coordination in climate disaster responses,” adding, “We look forward to continuing to explore the many ways that the Quad can help us deepen that cooperation. Our leaders laid out an important agenda for us when they met. We’re doing a lot of work on that.” ,” said.

Wong said Australia is committed to a free and open Indo-Pacific region. “None of us in this room want to see a region dominated by any one country or any one perspective, where countries cannot make those sovereign choices. We know our region is being reshaped economically and strategically, and the four countries will work together to better navigate this period of transition, ” said Wong.

Hayashi said the world is witnessing direct attempts to unilaterally change the status quo. A free and open international order based on law is under threat.

“Therefore, it is critical that we together demonstrate our firm commitment to the international community,” Hayashi said.

In 2017, the four countries gave shape to a long-standing proposal to form the “Quad,” or four-way alliance, to develop a new strategy to keep critical sea lanes in the Indo-Pacific free from any influence amid China’s aggressive behavior. region.

(With inputs from PTI)

Read all Latest News India And Breaking news Here


- Advertisment -

Most Popular