- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
HomeNationalVice President Election: Voting will be held today between Jagadeep Dhankar from...

Vice President Election: Voting will be held today between Jagadeep Dhankar from the NDA and Margaret Alva from the Opposition.Achi News

- Advertisment -

Vice President Election: Voting will be held today between Jagadeep Dhankar from the NDA and Margaret Alva from the Opposition.

Voting to elect the country’s new vice president will take place on Saturday. The contest is between National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Jagadeep Thangar and opposition joint candidate Margaret Alva. Based on statistics former West Bengal Governor Dhankar seems certain to win. Opposition parties have been divided over the vice-presidential election, with the West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress withdrawing from the polls, citing attempts to reach a consensus before announcing Alva’s name.

Alva, 80, is a veteran Congress leader and has also served as the governor of Rajasthan. Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) have extended their support to Alva. The All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) party has also supported Alva. Alva is estimated to get close to 200 votes based on the party support he has received so far.

Jagdeep Dhankar, 71, belongs to Rajasthan’s influential Jat community. His background was socialist. Janata Dal (United), YSR Congress, Bahujan Samaj Party, AIADMK and Shiv Sena have declared their support for Thangar and with their support the NDA candidate is expected to get close to 515 votes.

Also Read- Who Supports Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM in Vice Presidential Election? made this big announcement

Alva made this plea before voting

A day before the polls, Alva said in a video message that “MPs must find ways to build trust with each other and restore broken dialogue if the functioning of Parliament is to be effective”. Ultimately it is the MPs who decide the nature of our Parliament. The time has come for all parties to come together to build mutual trust and restore the dignity of Parliament.

On Thursday, the opposition gathered for a dinner party

Rajya Sabha Leader of Opposition Mallikarjuna Kharge hosted a party on Thursday night for MPs from all parties who supported Alva. Thangar met BJP MPs at his residence on Friday. These include Sushil Kumar Modi, Gautam Gambhir, Rajyavardhan Rathod and Rajendra Aggarwal. Polling will be held from 10 am to 5 pm in the Parliament complex. Soon after that the votes will be counted and in the evening the name of the new Vice President of the country will be announced by the Electoral Officer.

Also Read- BSP to vote for NDA govt’s Jagdeep Dhankar, against Mayawati’s opposition in vice-presidential poll after president

Venkaiah Naidu’s tenure ends on August 10

Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu’s term ends on August 10 and the new Vice President will be sworn in on August 11. All Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha members are included in the Electoral College for the Vice President election. Nominee members are also eligible to vote in it. The present strength of Parliament is 788, of which BJP has only 394 MPs. More than 390 votes are needed to win.

Thankar and Om Birla are from the same state

If Dhankar is elected as Deputy Speaker, it is a coincidence that the Lok Sabha Speaker and the Rajya Sabha Speaker are from the same state. Currently Om Birla is the Speaker of the Lok Sabha and he represents the Kota ParliamentACHI Constituency of Rajasthan. The Vice President is also the ex officio President of the Rajya Sabha.


The Ultimate Managed Hosting Platform
- Advertisment -

Most Popular